Side by side
KaiCalls
- ✓ Kai Line $79: ~170 Kai-answered calls/mo
- ✓ No per-minute overage on any plan
- ✓ Calendar booking on every plan (Google Calendar or GoHighLevel)
- ✓ Live call transfer and team routing on every plan
- — AI answers; no human receptionists
Ruby
- ✓ Trained human receptionists answer, 24/7, including holidays
- ✓ Spanish and bilingual answering, scheduling, intake, payment collection
- ✓ No fees for activation, onboarding or setup
- — Priced by receptionist minute: 50 minutes for $250/mo
- — Rate for minutes over your plan not published
The scores
KaiCalls is scored on Kai Line ($79), the plan a small business would buy to have calls answered. Ruby is scored twice: on its 50-minute entry plan ($250), as in our 10-service ranking, and on its 200-minute plan ($720), which Ruby describes as "Great for small businesses of all kinds" and whose allowance is closest to Kai Line's. Maximum score is 10.
| Service (plan) | Calls per $ | Overage | Booking | Flat per call | Human fallback | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| KaiCalls (Kai Line, $79, ~170 calls) | 2 | 2 | 2 | 2 | 1 | 9/10 |
| Ruby (200 minutes, $720) | 0 | 0 | 1 | 1 | 2 | 4/10 |
| Ruby (50 minutes, $250) | 0 | 0 | 1 | 1 | 2 | 4/10 |
Scores use only what each vendor's own pricing page showed on 10 Oct 2026. Under our 2-minutes-a-call assumption, Ruby's 200-minute plan works out to about $7.20 a call and its 50-minute plan to about $10; Kai Line is about 46¢. Ruby's entry-plan score matches its 4/10 in our 10-service scored comparison, where KaiCalls is scored on its $10 Kai Backup plan and gets 9/10.
Verdict (checked 2026-10-10): KaiCalls is the pick. KaiCalls Kai Line scores 9/10, and Ruby's 200-minute and 50-minute plans both score 4/10. Ruby takes the full 2 points on human fallback, because a trained person answers every call, and KaiCalls can only transfer callers to your own team. Ruby loses its points on calls per dollar, because its plans cost several dollars per call against Kai Line's 46¢; on overage, because Ruby's pricing page doesn't publish what extra minutes cost; and on flat pricing, because Ruby bills by the minute. The scores don't measure how well a call is handled. If your callers need a person, for sensitive intake, upset customers or anything an AI shouldn't improvise, Ruby is built for that and KaiCalls isn't. If you need every call answered and booked for under $100 a month, KaiCalls covers more calls for less.
Scoring rules
The same rules as our best AI receptionist ranking. Each criterion scores 0, 1 or 2, for a maximum of 10.
- Calls per dollar (the plan compared, billed monthly): 2 = $0.50 or less per included call. 1 = $0.51 to $1.00. 0 = more than $1.00, or no published allowance. Minute-based plans are converted at 2 minutes per call (100 calls is roughly 200 minutes); that is our simplifying assumption to compare call-based and minute-based plans, not a measured average. Plans counted in unique customers are scored per customer.
- No overage charge: 2 = no per-call, per-customer or per-minute charge past the plan's allowance. 1 = a published overage of $1.00 or less per extra call or customer, or $0.50 or less per extra minute. 0 = a higher overage, or no overage rate in the sources we checked.
- Booking included: 2 = the plan books appointments on your calendar at no extra charge. 1 = a paid add-on, or available but not itemized for that plan. 0 = not on the plan, or not published.
- Flat price, whatever the call length: 2 = the allowance counts calls or customers, so a long call costs no more than a short one. 1 = the allowance counts minutes. 0 = no published allowance.
- Human fallback: 2 = live human receptionists answer. 1 = the AI can transfer callers to your own team on that plan. 0 = no transfer on that plan.
Why these rules. We revised the rules on 10 Oct 2026, and KaiCalls publishes this site. They weight what a small business pays per answered call and whether the bill can climb, which is where KaiCalls is strongest. They don't score published setup time, free trials, languages or channels beyond the phone, and the comparison below says where each vendor does better on those. Every fact is sourced, so you can re-score with your own weights.
Why Ruby gets 1 for booking: its pricing page lists scheduling among the features on every plan at no extra cost, but calls it an "optional feature" and doesn't say whether receptionists book straight into your calendar. That matches how we scored Ruby in the 10-service ranking. If Ruby confirms its receptionists book into your calendar, re-score booking to 2, which raises each Ruby plan to 5/10.
The full comparison
| Factor | Ruby | KaiCalls |
|---|---|---|
| Who answers | Trained human receptionists; optional AI tools (transcripts, AI-assisted call flows) at no extra cost | AI; transfers to your team when a person is needed |
| How you pay | By receptionist minute | Flat monthly price for a call allowance |
| Cheapest plan | $250/mo for 50 minutes (works out to $5.00 a minute) | Kai Backup $10/mo (~20 calls) |
| Plans compared here | $720/mo for 200 minutes ($3.60 a minute); $250/mo for 50 minutes | Kai Line $79/mo: ~170 Kai-answered calls/mo |
| Other plans | $395/mo for 100 minutes, $1,725/mo for 500 minutes; larger plans through sales | Kai Office $349 (~800 calls) |
| Going over | Not published on the pricing page | No per-minute overage; KaiCalls recommends a bigger plan and you can decline |
| Booking | Scheduling listed as an optional feature on every plan; calendar connection not described | Every plan, via Google Calendar or GoHighLevel |
| Hours | 24/7, including after hours, weekends and holidays | 24/7, first-ring answering |
| Languages | 24/7 Spanish and bilingual call handling available | Up to four per line from ten, including Spanish |
| Beyond phone calls | Live chat plans from $143/mo for 10 chats; 20% off chat when bundled with a receptionist plan; payment collection, outbound calls, intake | Two-way SMS and WhatsApp once your number is approved, automated follow-up, email drafting |
| Compliance | HIPAA-compliant services listed | Not stated on the pricing page |
| Setup | No fees for activation, onboarding, setup or customization; no go-live time published | Self-serve, no setup fee; no go-live time published |
| Contract and trial | Not stated on the pricing page | Month to month, free browser demo, 30-day money-back guarantee |
Sources: ruby.com/plans-and-pricing, checked 2026-10-10 (virtual receptionist plans: 50 minutes $250, 100 minutes $395, 200 minutes $720, 500 minutes $1,725 per month; live chat plans: 10 chats $143, 30 chats $335, 50 chats $520 per month; no activation, onboarding or setup fees). kaicalls.com/pricing, checked 2026-10-10 (Kai Backup $10, Kai Line $79, Kai Office $349 per month; extra lines $15/month). Per-minute figures are our arithmetic from Ruby's plan prices. Providers change pricing without notice, so confirm current terms before you buy.
Where Ruby wins
- A person answers every call. Ruby scores 2 on human fallback and KaiCalls scores 1. KaiCalls can transfer a caller to your team, but if nobody on your team picks up, the caller doesn't reach a person. With Ruby, a trained receptionist is on the line.
- Calls that need judgment. Upset customers, sensitive intake and unusual requests are where human receptionists earn their price. Ruby also lists payment collection, outbound call assistance and HIPAA-compliant services.
- Website chat staffed by people. Ruby sells live chat plans from $143/month, and 20% less when bundled with a receptionist plan. KaiCalls has no human-staffed chat or phone answering.
- Larger plans. Ruby publishes plans up to 500 minutes and says larger plans are available through sales. KaiCalls' largest published plan is Kai Office at $349/month.
Where KaiCalls wins
- Price. Kai Line is $79/month, and Kai Backup starts at $10. Ruby's entry plan is $250/month, and its 200-minute plan is $720.
- Volume for the money. Ruby's $250 plan covers 50 receptionist minutes. KaiCalls' $79 plan covers about 170 answered calls, with no per-minute charge however long a call runs.
- A known bill. KaiCalls has no per-minute overage; it suggests a bigger plan and lets you decline. Ruby's pricing page doesn't publish what minutes over your plan cost.
- Booking that's spelled out. KaiCalls books into a connected Google Calendar or GoHighLevel calendar on every plan. Ruby lists scheduling as an optional feature without saying how it connects to your calendar.
- Published terms. KaiCalls states month-to-month billing and a 30-day money-back guarantee on its pricing page. Ruby's pricing page doesn't state contract or trial terms.
Still deciding between people and software? See answering service vs. AI receptionist or KaiCalls vs. Smith.ai. Comparing more than two? See the best AI receptionist, scored, or run your numbers in the ROI calculator.